Sonata in D minor Allegro

Item No.: TSPCD15-002

Advanced Marimba Duet

Article numbers

Scarlatti; arr. Jonathan Ovalle

2 Players

Advanced Concert Percussion

Instrumentation: • 2 marimbas—(1) low A, (1) low C

Having composed 555 keyboard sonatas, the Sonata in D minor (K. 141) represents only a fraction of Domenico Scarlatti's voluminous catalog of keyboard works. The "Allegro" features an aggressive and percussive style which lends itself well to a marimba duo arrangement for experienced players.

In order to create maximum intrigue for both the performers and audience, Jonathan Ovalle has arranged the piece so that the upper and lower lines of the original harpsichord part are not simply divided between the two players; rather the primary melodic line is frequently passed between the players (often phrase by phrase and sometimes bar by bar). This creates a stereo panning effect between the two marimba parts and allows both players to participate in taking the lead by playing the primary line.

This piece comes as a professionally printed and bound score and includes individual parts in PDF format for printing or for tablet viewing.

Sonata in D minor Allegro does not have any reviews yet. Share your experiences and post a review.
Sonata in D minor Allegro

Last viewed items