Item No.: TSPCD-20

Advanced Snare Drum Duet

Article numbers

Sean Patrick Harvey

2 Players

Advanced Concert Percussion

Instrumentation: • 2 concert snare drums • 1 brake drum

Strata by Sean Patrick Harvey is a collection of three short pieces: One Big Hocket, Particle Emission, and Changing Phases. Advanced in level and ranging in duration from 2:00 to 3:45, all three pieces showcase the intricate textures that result from composite rhythms, canon, and interwoven layers.

An adaption of the 13th-century polyphonic form that takes its name from the French word for hiccup, “One Big Hocket” contains split rhythms in every bar and includes a flexible improvisatory section. “Particle Emission” creates textural interest in part by its use of brushes and sticks along with a shared brake drum, and the vivace “Changing Phases” is a rhythmic showpiece. It is an excellent finale if performed as a suite but, like the other two pieces in the set, it is musically effective individually as well.

This piece comes as a professionally printed and bound score and includes individual parts in PDF format for printing or for tablet viewing.

Strata does not have any reviews yet. Share your experiences and post a review.

Last viewed items